Safe Restart Agreement to Deliver $4 Billion to Support Municipalities and Transit

July 27, 2020

Under the Safe Restart Agreement, Province and Federal Governments will provide $4 billion to Ontario's municipalities to address budget shortfalls related to COVID-19 and to maintain critical services including child care and transit over the next six to eight months. 

The Federal government will contribute $777 million and the Province will contribute $1.22 billion. The agreement includes testing, contact tracing and data management; health care capacity and mental health; protecting vulnerable populations, including people experiencing homelessness and seniors in long-term care facilities; securing personal protective equipment (PPE); child care for returning workers; and support for municipalities and public transit systems.

Details on specific allocations will be announced in the coming weeks.

A deal for public transit funding was also secured as part of the federal-provincial agreement. Up to $2 billion will be shared equally between Ontario and the federal government. Transit operators that have seen steep declines in revenues will receive the support to address the financial impacts of COVID-19 and continue their operations in a safe manner.

More Information