Premier Ford Shuffles Cabinet

June 20, 2019

Premier Ford has made major changes to his cabinet in an attempt to reset his government.

This morning's cabinet shuffle happens a little over a year after his election win in June 2018. Unlike his previous shuffle, where shifts were mostly minor, this shuffle brings in sweeping changes in some of the most senior portfolios.

Several new appointments have direct implications for human services, with changes affecting the Ministry of Children, Community and Social Services; the Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities and the Ministry of Education. 

Minister Steve Clark retains his portfolio in the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing, and Minister Christine Elliott retains her position as Deputy Premier and Minister of Health. New Associate Ministers have been added for Long-Term Care and Mental Health and Addictions.

The full cabinet list is below, and you can find more details on changes affecting human services in OMSSA's Policy Update.
  • Premier and Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs: Doug Ford
  • Deputy Premier and Minister of Health: Christine Elliott
  • Associate Minister of Mental Health and Addictions: Michael Tibollo
  • Minister of Long-Term Care: Merrilee Fullerton
  • Minister of Finance: Rod Phillips
  • Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade and Chair of Cabinet: Vic Fedeli
  • Associate Minister of Small Business and Red Tape Reduction: Prabmeet Sarkaria
  • Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing: Steve Clark
  • Solicitor General: Sylvia Jones
  • Minister of Environment, Conservation and Parks: Jeff Yurek
  • Minister of Children, Community and Social Services: Todd Smith  
  • Associate Minister of Children and Women's Issues: Jill Dunlop
  • Minister of Labour: Monte McNaughton
  • Attorney General: Doug Downey
  • Minister of Transportation and Minister of Francophone Affairs: Caroline Mulroney
  • Associate Minister of Transportation (GTA): Kinga Surma
  • Minister of Training, Colleges and Universities: Ross Romano
  • Minister of Education: Stephen Lecce
  • President of the Treasury Board: Peter Bethlenfalvy
  • Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry: John Yakabuski
  • Minister of Energy, Northern Development and Mines, and Minister of Indigenous Affairs: Greg Rickford
  • Associate Minister of Energy: Bill Walker
  • Minister for Seniors and Accessibility: Raymond Cho
  • Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs: Ernie Hardeman
  • Minister of Infrastructure: Laurie Scott
  • Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport: Lisa MacLeod
  • Minister of Government and Consumer Services: Lisa Thompson
  • Government House Leader: Paul Calandra

Read More in OMSSA's Policy Update