Champion of Human Services Award

Recognizing a champion who has displayed extraordinary leadership and made an exceptional contribution to human services.

2019 Recipient:

Jim Grieve
Former Assistant Deputy Minister
Ontario Ministry of Education

Jim Grieve was appointed in November 2009 as Assistant Deputy Minister of the Early Learning Division for the Ontario Ministry of Education, where he was responsible for the provincial implementation of full-day kindergarten for four and five-year olds, leading the work of creating a seamless early learning experience for children in Ontario from birth onward.

Following an exemplary career as a teacher, school administrator and superintendent in the North York Board of Education, Jim served as Director of Education in Ottawa-Carleton for four years before moving to the Director of Education role for seven years with the Peel District School Board, Canada's second largest school board. 

Selection Process

The recipient of this annual award is nominated by OMSSA's Awards and Nomination Committee and selected by OMSSA's Board of Directors. Selection criteria includes:

  • A proven and respected track record of achievement in human services

  • Someone who is recognized as a thought leader in human services

  • Someone whose work has been provincially or nationally significant


Recipients are honoured each year at OMSSA's Annual Leadership Symposium.

Past Recipients

  • 2018: Janet Menard

  • 2017: Terry Cooke

  • 2016: Ratna Omidvar

  • 2015: Art Eggleton and Hugh Segal

  • 2014: Janet Gasparini

  • 2013: Clyde Hertzman

  • 2012: Armine Yalnizyan

  • 2011: Sherri Torjman